Skip to content

Ideas to promote Diabetes Awareness month

October 30, 2008

I received a phone call the other day from a young lady in Oklahoma that wanted to know if I had any ideas on how she could promote Diabetes Awareness month. WOW! Of course, when she asked me my mind went blank and I even think I may have stumbled and said ummm one too many times. Overall I hope she got some good feedback and the message that as long as she is doing something it is better than doing nothing.

I often struggle with the same question. It seems like such an easy question but it has such a difficult answer. I live in Kansas City and I know I’ve said it before but we have about 320,000 people living here with the disease. You would think there would be an overwhelming response for diabetes advocacy and awareness. Nope, It’s pretty quiet around here.  When the forbidden word diabetes rolls off your tongue it’s almost as if you just said “I’m going to go jump off the bridge now, Goodbye!”. Maybe not that dramatic but it is not as widely accepted as I would like.

I don’t want my kids (or anyone else’s for that matter) to have to suffer with this disease but if a cure is not found anytime soon and they are diagnosed I want them to accept the disease and face the challenge head on.  I want people to be more proactive and I’m not saying there aren’t some very proactive, lively, go, go, go diabetics out here because there are (hello, look at me). But it did take me a while to want to help change other peoples views about diabetes. I’ve always been pretty positive about it but it wasn’t until recently that I actually started paying attention to how others think.

So, what are some of your ideas about bringing awareness to your city for Diabetes Awareness month?

Andrea B.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 8:28 pm

    Your attitude about “spreading the word” and encouraging other with diabetes to join together for support, as well as to promote diabetes education is so contageous!!! Together, we can do so much!!! You know what else is cool? We have the exact same D-Blogiversary!! We both started our blogs a year ago on Black Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

