Skip to content

Holiday’s and Diabetes

November 6, 2008

The holiday’s seem to be the time of the year that I struggle the most with my diabetes. My grandmother is from the South and loves to cook around this time of year. From the Fall through the Spring we eat phat (pronounced fat which means a lot). She loves to cook from scratch and bake all the time. My issue is I still can’t figure out how to count my carbs so I’m either overdosing or under dosing. Neither are a good thing to do and after 12+ years with the Big D you would think I would do better with it. Nope! I’m also very insulin sensitive so no matter what carb ratio my endo gives me I can never take over 7 units at one given time without it crashing me within an hour after taking it. 

So here we are once again, Fall in Kansas City which means smells of sweet potatoes, greens, mac & cheese, corn, ham or whole chicken and corn bread creep into the car as I pull into the garage. Yummy! I want to do better and some of the things she cooks I have a pretty good guesstimate about the carbs. But (and there is always a but) how do I count carbs for stew, tuna casserole, chili, beans & rice, stuffed green peppers, every kind of pie, cobbler and cake you can imagine? Here is my favorite one how do I count carbs for something that started off as hamburger helper but ended up as something else helper because granny didn’t think the hamburger helper would be enough so she just added a couple of things, See my problem?

Not everyone has a granny that cooks incredible things throughout the winter time but most people celebrate the holidays with food.  What works for you during the holidays when there is so much temptation? Do you avoid certain foods all together or do you have a system?

Andrea B.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 8:21 pm

    My mother in law has diabetes along with sarcoidosis. I never really took interest into really looking up diabetes until my marriage. Because of my husband’s crazy eating habits (like eating out all the time) I worry that he might get it. I don’t even know if diabetes is hereditary. As of right now he’s borderline high blood pressure. My goal is to get him to lose some weight and also help my mother in law (she lives with us). I also wanted to become more healthier since the birth of my son 3 months ago. I guess I need to be more aware of what will cause her sugar to drop or be to high. Thanks for having such a great page and making people aware of this disease.

  2. Cherise permalink
    November 10, 2008 12:31 am

    LOL! Gosh, I miss my mom’s home cooking…candy yams, ok let me stop.
    For the holidays I usually sample pretty much everything. My plate looks more light an appetizer than anything, that way I don’t feel like I am depriving myself of the things I like. It’s all about moderation.

  3. confessionsofasingleblackwoman permalink
    November 11, 2008 2:10 am

    My uncle has diabetes. I will be wearing my ribbon.

Leave a Reply

