Skip to content

Mississippi and me

November 24, 2008

I’ve never been to Mississippi although I feel like I’m from there. You see my grandmother is from Tchula (pronounced Chew La), Mississippi and often recounts stories of growing up in the 40’s down there. Even though I was born and raised in Kansas and have never actually visited Mississippi I feel a connection to the state. Maybe because my roots are planted there, maybe because I’ve heard so many stories about it or just maybe because one of my favorite rappers (David Banner) is from there. At any rate Mississippi will forever have a place in my heart.

About a month ago a lady (Ms. Valerie) from Mississippi sent me an email about my ribbon campaign. She wanted to know if the campaign was still active and would love to support my initiative by collecting items for me or making the ribbons and distributing them in Mississippi because she was working on a diabetes project in her community. I told her the campaign was indeed still active but didn’t follow up until a month later to see if she needed ribbons or not (bad on my part I know). I was going through my emails about a week ago and sent her an email to find out if she made the ribbons or if she still needed some. She immediately sent me an email back saying she went ahead and made some using the instructions from the website and there would be an article about it in the local newspaper. To my surprise she went ahead and mentioned my campaign in the article, hoped I wouldn’t mind and would even send me a copy when it came out. Wouldn’t mind?! Any and all publicity is welcomed and greatly appreciated.

Yesterday I received an email from Ms Valerie with the article attached. She apologized for them leaving out my website and wanted to know what the max number of ribbons she could order. Before responding I opened the attachment and pictured were 5 African-American women of the Clarksdale-Marks Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. proudly wearing their diabetes awareness ribbon on World Diabetes Day as the president signed a proclamation. The members have created a targeted approach called Deltas C.A.R.E. about Diabetes (Campaign for Awareness Resources and Education). Oh my gosh, I was simply floored. After wiping the tears from my eyes I sent her a email thanking her for the publicity, support and letting her know she could get as many as she needed. I am so excited!

Until next time wish me luck and many blessings!

Andrea B.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cherise permalink
    December 1, 2008 12:15 am

    Andrea-

    Awesome!!! I am proud of you! lol I talk like I’ve been knowing you for years hahaha
    You go girl! I wanted to ask you about Blue Ribbons. Could you make some??

Leave a Reply

