Skip to content

A World of Possibilities

January 16, 2009

Yesterday I met with Mrs Howard & Mrs Williams from the Samuel U Rodgers Health Center about events for World Diabetes Day and it was incredible. Both ladies are on board for making diabetes awareness a huge event. They want to make it as big (if not bigger) as the breast cancer awareness events that they have. Ideas were swapped, discarded, added and multiplied.  So far here is what was discussed:

1) The main speaker will be Manny Hernandez of TuDiabetes

2) A panel discussion with young diabetics from different ethnic backgrounds, a certified diabetes educator, a pediatric endocrinologist and a nutritionist

3) Having a two or three day event with one for Hispanics, one for African Americans and then the main event for everyone (maybe it could be one day but have different sessions)

4) Having a book or video tapping different people’s inspiring stories  and encouraging words prior to the event then playing it in the background on the day of the event 

At this point not to much is set in stone but the excitement of preparing for the big day is almost more than I can handle. Mrs. Howard wants to start now so they can advertise as much as possible to get as many people to the event that they can.

This all is being made possible from my great friend Cherise over at Diabeticizme (her mom is Mrs. Howard). Her mom was so excited during the meeting yesterday and I know a part of that is simply because her daughter is so excited about it. It has been such an awesome feeling to meet someone who shares my passion. I am over joyed, I cried tears of joy when I got in the car yesterday, I thanked GOD for blessing me with this wonderful opportunity, I thanked my parents for making me stick to my dreams when they seemed impossible and now I want to thank one more person. I know you will be reading Cherise so I want to take this time to THANK YOU!

Until next time wish me luck and many blessings because I’ll being doing the same for you.

Andrea B.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 9:01 pm

    Stopping by to show some love. You must be soooo excited. I am happy that you are able to work on this. I hope it becomes big like breast cancer awareness. This is a very important subject. Continue the good work.

  2. January 17, 2009 2:17 am

    Sounds like great stuff! And thanks for investigating the RSS feed thing – now it’s easy to see when you’ve got new posts up. 🙂

  3. January 19, 2009 3:39 pm

    I have trouble logging mine also, I don’t know why it is so painful to jot it down. I guess I figure that is what the memory in the meter is for, but that is the wrong attitude I know.

  4. Cherise permalink
    January 19, 2009 8:46 pm

    I’m excited for you! If I was still in KC we would be a force to reckon with…hahaha
    I can’t wait to see how everything turns out.

Leave a Reply

