Skip to content

Logging your blood sugars

January 19, 2009

Why is it so hard to log your blood sugars? It seems like it should be one of the simple things that us diabetics have to do but for many of us it is not. Around the diabetes blogosphere I read about others who struggle with thesame issue. For the longest time I thought it was just me. I would feel bad about not keeping better track of my blood sugars. My rational behind not being diligent about it was my OneTouch Ultra Smart holds all my information and even gives me graphs. The reality was that I hardly ever used any of the features. Now I have the OneTouch Mini (because they are so cute) in blue. It fits into my purse or anywhere else a whole lot better than the OneTouch Ultra Smart. Besides I wasn’t using all the features anyway.

Recently I started using a awesome service called SugarStats. It logs your sugars, total daily carbs,gives you a place to journal thoughts, doctor visits and if you upgrade to a paid account you can add food and exercise. You can add information using your twitter account or on your cellphone. Totally accessible anywhere. Sounds great right? So why am I not using such a wonderful service? Great question.

I’m not for sure why it’s so hard for me to stick to logging my blood sugars. This year I decided I would do better and even decided I would keep a food log. One on the blog and one in a journal that I could carry around. Neither of those have happened yet. I did log my food into SugarStats all last week up until Friday. Yeah I know today is Monday and I’m a little behind. I need to get it together and fast.

Until next time wish me luck and many blessings because I’ll be doing the same for you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 5:40 pm

    Ug – logging is something that ALL of us with diabetes struggle with (dare I say most of the time?).

    I wish you all the best in your logging and tracking. When I am able to do it, I find it very helpful!

    Keep us posted.

  2. Cherise permalink
    January 19, 2009 8:48 pm

    I am with you! I can’t keep track of my bg’s on a log:) lol I am barely keeping up with the food log!! You can do it!!!

  3. January 20, 2009 9:29 am

    Sugar stats is a good program, but it’s a bit too complicated for me. To keep it a bit more simple, I go to http://www.dia-log.com. It’s free! Give it a try and see what you think. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

