Skip to content

Are you talking about it?

January 22, 2009

One question that continues to baffle me is the lack of conversation about diabetes. Last year the Overland Park chapter of the American Diabetes Association had a Faces of Diabetes Campaign that ran in KC Magazine during November for diabetes awareness month. The idea was to get as many of the 320,000 diabetics in Kansas City photographed for a mosaic, interview and feature 10 diabetics for the magazine.

I was one of the lucky diabetics that was featured in the magazine. The sad and shocking part was they were struggling trying to find people to interview and hardly anyone wanted there picture taken. I guess I was a little shocked because I think about the month of October where the streets, stores, television and newspapers are filled with pink everything for breast cancer awareness month. Survivors faces and stories are plastered across every piece of media that you can imagine.

So what’s the big deal with diabetic survivors? Why aren’t we just as happy to tell our story and put our face on the front of a magazine? Good question. I plan to seek out the answer and change peoples minds one person at a time. 

My mission for my grass roots organization is to get people talking and to keep the conversation going about diabetes. By doing this it will turn the negative image of diabetes into positive ones.

Calling all my fellow diabetics,  friends and family of diabetics I need your help. There are opportunities all around us to start or join a conversation about diabetes. Tell your story, your husbands, wife’s, uncles, aunts, grandmas, child’s or friends story. Trust me it will help someone. Are you in?

Until next time wish me luck and many blessings because I’ll be doing the same for you!

Andrea B.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 1:03 pm

    We should talk! I know exactly what you mean and we see it a lot too.

    Would you consider becoming a TuDiabetes ambassador for your region? I think there’s a lot we can do together.

  2. January 22, 2009 1:40 pm

    Isn’t it crazy? I mean, we wonder why our research funding isn’t what it is for some of these other things! Well, it’s because many of us are not vocal enough!

    Good for you for noticing and taking a stand! Anything I can do to help along the way, just say the word.

  3. January 22, 2009 4:10 pm

    I agree!

  4. January 30, 2009 8:25 pm

    You’re right, people need to talk. People need to be aware and know more about diabetes and not be afraid to know the facts, and just talk about it. You’re on to something! Nice to see this..eventually this type of grass roots movement will spread…

    I’d love to be a part of it somehow someway* 🙂

Leave a Reply

