Skip to content

Insulin in a Pen

January 28, 2009

For 10 yrs I used a syringe and insulin to inject my insulin. I switched this method out to try the Minimed Insulin Pump about three years ago. There was nothing wrong with the insulin and syringe but i wanted to catch up to technology. My experience with it was less than pleasing. The highs I experienced were incredible, the thing kept falling off and I just didn’t like having to hide the wire.

Now, I have to admit that I didn’t give the pump a fair chance. I was only on it for six months before I decided to hell with it I want my syringes back. Since then I have learned about the Omnipod that is wireless. I was going to bring it up to my endo when I saw him a couple of weeks ago but he said my blood sugars looked stable. He thought my dosage for Lantus was perfect (for now) and to just keep tweaking my Novolog. My A1C came back at 7.3 down .1 from 6 months ago. I could do better but at least it didn’t go up.

Then about two years ago I started using the pens. I like the pen because I don’t have to carry around 2 bottles of insulin and several syringes, I don’t have a machine constantly attached to my body BUT…Isn’t there always a but? The pen is not perfect by any means. You never get all of the insulin out of the pen (it wont let you dial up anymore insulin but you can see it still has some in there), there seems to be a little bit (or a lot depending on how fast you do the injection) that always comes back out after an injection and there is a noticeable difference between the amount of insulin you inject from the pen versus the amount of insulin you inject using a syringe.

Is there a perfect way to administer insulin? In my opinion I don’t think so. I do believe what works for some doesn’t work for others. The important part is finding something and working with it to manage your diabetes. So my pen and I are off on another adventure.

Until next time wish me luck and many blessings because I’ll be doing the same for you!

Andrea B.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 10:15 am

    I think you are right on point when you say that what works for some doesn’t work for others. We are all so different, and are all looking for the best ways to manage our diabetes and get on with life. Very well said Andrea!

  2. January 28, 2009 3:28 pm

    When I took a “pump break” one summer (for my vanity to get a nice even tan and better for swimsuits) I used the pens – what I hated was sometimes after dialing up, and pressing down after I had inserted the needle, it seemed to get hung! I had to change the needle and stick myself AGAIN. Rubbish. My pump break only lasted the summer, and since I have moved to a climate where I have no need for swimsuits the pump is suiting me just fine again.

Leave a Reply

