Skip to content

Do you test in public?

February 8, 2009

The other day while waiting on my waitress to take the rest of my family’s order I decided to test my BG. I whipped out my Blue One Touch Ultra Mini and took my test. It read 101, Woo Hoo! I looked up and noticed the waitress was taking our orders but she was staring right at me. At first I wondered what she was looking at but then I remembered I was testing my BG. Also, I get weird stares when co-workers come into my office and I’m testing. I’ve been there for the last 7 years so you would think they would be a little use to it. Nope but that’s ok because I’m not going to hide my diabetes to make them feel better.

Honestly I don’t put a lot of thought into testing my BG. I know it’s something that I have to do and I do it. Here recently I’ve found myself injecting in public if I can get to my stomach unnoticed. Now, I’m not going to hike up my dress or expose all of my tummy for the world to see and scare all the kids (my baby momma tummy is not so cute). I’m just saying that if I can quickly test and/or inject in public without excusing myself to the restroom then I will. Honestly I hate going to the restroom because you and I both know that  public restrooms are some of the nastiest places. Ever seen the inside of a Wal-Mart restroom? Ok, you get my point. There are times when I do go in the restroom and I usually go into the stall. Simply because I’ve tried testing at the sink but my machine ends up soaking wet which is no good for my machine cover. It has to go back in my purse and being wet is not an option.

I don’t know that there is any simple, easy or convenient way to test. What do you think? Where do you test when your out in public?

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

Andrea B.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 9:35 pm

    When I was in MDI’s I would inject at the t

  2. February 8, 2009 10:19 pm

    Yes, I do. And I have injected right at the table. Tonight, when I went to dinner with a crowd I don’t know, I did not inject right in front of them. But…I didn’t even go out of the bathroom – I snuck around the corner into a private little room. Sigh….

    It does depend on who I want to show my “baby momma tummy” to also! LOL

    I fear the stretch marks would frighten them away more than the needle marks!

  3. February 9, 2009 6:33 am

    We test and dose Kacey right in public. We’ve gotten the stares as well but I told her it was easier to deal with all the stares than it was to take her supplies into a nasty public bathroom with all the germs. She agreed 😉 Most times I ignore the stares but there are times when I see someone look really curious and I use that moment to “diabetes educate” them (heehee!)

  4. February 9, 2009 8:34 am

    I test in public all the time – even at the dinner table in a restaurant. I don’t even think about it – but I suppose I should be more thoughtful because some people are really squeamish about blood (even a tiny drop). When I was on MDIs, I always shot up in public too. 🙂

  5. February 9, 2009 12:35 pm

    I too test in public, but because I dislike the unwanted attention I will try to be at least a little discrete. Doesn’t that sound strange with be being so ‘out there’ online?

    For my insulin, I’m on a pump, so it’s quite different. A few button presses here and I’m all set.

  6. February 9, 2009 3:49 pm

    I test in public. People stare. I don’t really care. The only time I go in the bathroom is if my pump is in a spot I can’t get to it (i.e. my bra) without bringing a lot of notice to myself.

Leave a Reply

