Skip to content

1700 Calories

April 16, 2009

Yesterday was my usual 3 month follow up to see Jeffrey (my endo). I also had made an appointment to visit with Deb (the diabetes educator & nutritionist). Jeffrey added a unit of Lantus, dropped by carb ratio to 9, and  changed my target blood sugar to 100.  Not bad since in January he didn’t change anything.

Next up was Deb to talk about carb and calorie intake. I explained to her that on May 1st it will be 14 years since I was diagnosed but I have never had (or never followed) any sort diet plan. Initially I was not put on one because I was underweight so they wanted me to eat. Afterwards I have always been well within my target weight range but as I get older I realize the more carbs I eat mean the more insulin I take which means the more weight I will gain. She was very happy to see me be proactive before it becomes a problem. She told me 1700 calories a day would work for me to maintain my current weight and 40 to 60 carbs per meal. Sounds doable to me but the trick is going to be tracking my calorie intake. I’m use to counting carbs but not calories. I left with the new calorie king book and a list of web resources for healthy recipes.

I am excited to get started. I already have this weeks meals planned out but I will be creating next weeks meal today or tomorrow so I’ll try some of the new recipes on the Internet. I’ll keep you posted and maybe even post a recipe or two. Wish me luck!

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

Andrea B.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 10:57 am

    Good luck! I’m always looking for new recipes so I do hope you’ll share when you try something you like!

  2. April 16, 2009 11:47 am

    Girl I eat so much carbs, I have never been diagnosed with diabetes but I’m so nervous now that I’m getting older. It doesn’t run in my family but my mother-in-law is diabetic so you know I’m all over this stuff. I have been trying to train myself to slow down on the carbs, but no help. Good luck with 1700 calories.

  3. April 16, 2009 1:49 pm

    The only time I’ve been able to successfully deal with excess weight was counting calories.

    I think that it cuts two ways, because we are already used to counting a number (carbs), so it’s not a big deal to throw another number in the mix (calories). But on the other hand, it’s another thing to count and deal with.

    But I think you’ll be empowered by the results, which will keep you moving ahead and feeling good about the work you’re putting into it.

  4. Cherise permalink
    April 18, 2009 10:32 pm

    You can do it!!!! I’m good at counting carbs, terrible at counting calories. I am proud of you. Step by step:) Day by Day:)

    Be Blessed

Trackbacks

  1. Wellness Wednesday « Sticky Sweet Diabetics

Leave a Reply

