Skip to content

9 years ago

April 28, 2009

Nine years ago today God blessed me with a beautiful baby boy. The pregnancy was not planned so there was no time to get my blood sugars under control before I got pregnant. On my side was a glimmer of hope because I was still going through my “honeymoon” phase with diabetes. So my blood sugars never ran over 150, there was no carb counting, I took a set amount of insulin, ate what I wanted and still maintained a health weight. Ahhh the good old days!

Flash forward nine months and I felt like I practically lived at the doctors office. They knew me by name so there was no need to sign in. I could point any confused momma-to-be in the right direction. I would say “sonograms are down the hall then come back to this office after your done”. My last sonogram revealed he was approximately 7 and a half to 8 lbs. I was close enough to my scheduled due date they scheduled me for a cesarean in a week, I would go visit the nursery and the labor and delivery unit on Saturday. Hooray!!! I was excited and scared all at the same time.

Thursday night came around and as usual I sat in front of the t.v. watching A Baby Story on TLC and noticed a really weird feeling in my tummy. It wasn’t hunger, gas, him kicking or moving but more like a sharp pain everyonce in a while with a constant dull achy pain. Oh my gosh I was in labor. It was like he had heard the doctors say they were going to take him and he decided he would show those doctors. No one was going to take him, he would go where he wanted, when he wanted and five days before my scheduled ceasearn he decided he was ready to meet the world. 

My parents started counting and I started to panic. Not wanting to take a chance of him arriving in the car when the pain was just about unbearable (which isn’t much for me) they called the ambulance. The EMT’s got there and I can recall the lady EMT saying “this is your first so you wont have him tonight. It’s probably just false labor which happens alot with first time moms.” Gee thanks lady! She asked me to tell her everytime I felt a contraction. She couldn’t believe my contractions were coming so close together so she put her hand on my tummy and said “yep those are real contractions alright”. Really?!  And here I thought it was a mild case of gas and a ride in the ambulance would cure it.

Eight hours, 3 cm and a emergency ceasearn later Dre’Von was born weighing 9lbs 5 ozs. He spent three days in the NICU and was nicknamed the “body guard” since he was the biggest baby in the unit. Tests for diabetes were ran and they came back negative, Thank the LORD!!!

Nine years later there are no signs that he was born to a diabetic mommy. He is super duper  (yes that’s a real word) smart, extremely handsome, funny, loveable, huggable, kissable, and any other “able” you can think of . He loves to draw, act, sing and dance. Yeah that’s my baby little man, my future artist, actor, singer, songwriter, choreographer, and any and everything he puts his mind to he will become.

Happy 9th Birthday Dre’!

Love Always,

 Mom!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 8:33 am

    Aww! Happy Birthday!

  2. April 30, 2009 5:06 am

    Happy Birthday Dre! What a touching post.

  3. Cherise permalink
    May 3, 2009 5:57 pm

    I agree with Scott touching post:) Girl, you had a 9lb 5 ounce baby? yikes.

Leave a Reply

