Skip to content

In a week

July 10, 2009

we will be on our way to Omaha for our first family vacation. Omaha mapI know that I’ve posted this before but I have to mention it again. You see this is BIG for me because I never traveled when I was younger (and not much since I’ve been older). My mom had to use the little vacation time she got in combination with her sick time. Add that to the fact she was a single mom and that equaled a staycation for me.  

I have to give it to my mom because I never felt like I was missing something because we didn’t travel. My memories of summer vacation are filled with everything that I enjoyed doing. Trips to the library to participate (and usually dominate) in the summer reading program, half days at the local recreation center, and then there were the day trips (when money allowed) to Odessa, Lawrence, and any other outlet mall that she could find. It was bliss for me.

My excuse for not taking the kids anywhere before is my fear of traveling alone. That fear is no more because Thomas loves to travel. We are excited about taking the kids to Omaha, visiting the zoo, maybe the museum and just the road trip in general. My hope is that in 20 years this trip will be a part of their happy memories of summer vacation.

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cherise permalink
    July 10, 2009 11:19 pm

    Have fun! Take plenty of picture’s:)

Leave a Reply

