Skip to content

Frustrated!

September 10, 2009

A week ago I got a call from my mother she said, I checked my blood sugar and all the machine said was HI. I said, Mom that means your sugar is over 600 if it wont register on the glucose machine. You need to drink some water to try and flush any ketones you might have. Then she said, ok.

The next phone call I got was from my grandmother telling me that my mother was at the doctors office. They were talking about keeping her if any of her blood work or urine showed signs of ketones. In my mind I knew that they were checking for DKA. I could hear the fear in my grandmothers voice.

I got up to the doctors office and asked if my mother was still there. The nurse proceeded to tell me that she was already gone. Ummm no ma’am she is NOT gone I’m parked right next to her. I asked her to look again and briefly described her to the lady at the front desk. Another lady popped her head around the corner and said short, black lady with really short blonde hair? Laughing I told her that would be my mother. She said yeah she’s still here. Well DUH!

They opened the door to the room my mother was in and she was less than surprised to see me to say the least. My disapproval was written all over my face. She knows how my great-grandmother (her grandmother) gave in to diabetes and died at the young age of 61. Before she passed she suffered a long battle with kidney failure. I remember seeing her on dialysis. It’s very scary and something that made me want to always, always do my best. While we waited on the shot of insulin to kick in and for her test results to come back I brought my great-grandmother up. All my mom could do was to tell me that she knows what she needs to do.

The nurse popped her head in and began to sing Hit the road jack and don’t you come back no more, no more, no more, no more. Hit the road jack…You get my drift. I was almost sick to my stomach. There was no education material, no explanation of  the consequences of high blood sugar and to top it all off the doctor never came in. It wasn’t her doctor that saw her so they made her an appointment with him for the next day. That she never made it to.

I’m frustated with the doctors but who frustrates me the most is my mother. I understand her frustration and sometimes the depression that goes with having this disease. I understand the cravings for the things that your not supposed to have or have a limited amount of. I understand!

I just wish she would let me help her but I know she has to want it for herself first. I feel so, so, so……Desperate and Frustrated!

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 11:04 pm

    Andrea-

    I will keep you and your Mom in my prayers! I understand your frustration; I have a stubborn step father. Your Mom has to take responsiblity of caring for herself before she’ll let you in. I pray she opens up soon.
    Doctor’s tick me off too but sometimes they think the Pt doesn’t care why should they–I know bad thoughts but it’s true. We have to show we care about us before someone else will care

  2. September 11, 2009 8:46 am

    Keeping you and your family in my prayers…I know that must be so extremely tough… love ya!

Leave a Reply

