Skip to content

Pants

October 5, 2009

Fuss (the three year old) woke me up this morning and said “Momma pants”. Looking at the clock, rubbing my eyes, reaching for my glasses, what the??? Does that say 3 a.m. Totally disoriented I shuffle him back to his room. As I close the door he whines again about pants and points to his bottom.

I stumble to the  bathroom and yell for him to come in there with me. I check his pants and there is stuff in there looking back at methat I don’t want to see at 3 a.m. Oh man! Alright, Alright! I change his pull up and shuffle him back to bed. Washing my hands and spraying air freshener I mumble to myself that I need to work harder on potty training.

This morning before we walk out the door he starts whining and pointing to his bottom. “What’s wrong” I said. “pants” was his response. Slapping my forehead I think not again. I take a peek and again it’s dirty. Yuck!

So here is my dilemma. He goes when I (or someone else) takes him to the bathroom. He even prefers to go standing up BUT he will not go on his own. I try not to make a big deal about it since he just turned three and I know that it wont help him go if I fuss at him. We always make sure to make a big deal when he does go but how do I get him to go on his own? It’s especially important now since he knows that he doesn’t want a stinky pull up on him. HELP!

Suggestions, comments, and stories are all welcome!

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 1:16 pm

    Hang in there. Mine were all late potty trainers. Both of mine were preemies and were late pee’rs. (That’s not really a word, I made it up). My daughter was almost four and my son potty trained at 3 but still has accidents and wears pull ups at night. It will come. I had those same frustrations. Once I gave up altogether because I became too tired and frustrated with the whole potty training thing they then wanted to potty train. I’ll make a note to post on this subject. You’ll get a kick out of it.

Leave a Reply

