Skip to content

What a Scare

October 13, 2009
tags:

Yesterday I was off work because of the Federal Holiday Columbus Day.  I work for a bank what can I say. We get some weird holidays off. I kind of wish they would trade that day for the day after Thanksgiving but let’s not go there. Anyway, my fiance had to work yesterday. Shortly after he left I received one of the scariest calls you can get. I answered the phone, “Hello”. “Baby I’ve been in an accident” he said. “Are you alright?” “No I’m hurt. The ambulance is on their way” he said. “Ok where are you?” “75th and Stateline” he said “Ok I’m on my way” and things turned upside down after that.

My mind racing I rushed around to get the kids up. Which consisted of them throwing on their pants and coats. I ran around and grabbed what I thought would cover my body, tennis shoes, coat and out the door we went. Now mind you I did not brush my teeth, wash my face, comb my hair (I did put it back in a semi pony tail) or any of that. Who has time for hygiene at a time like that? I sure don’t.

Back to the story.

I dropped the kids off at my mother’s house. Thank God they stay so close. To my surprise my mother was getting dressed so she could go with me. I still almost left her because she was moving at what seemed like a turtle’s pace to me. We finally left and were headed to the hospital when I got a call from the police office on the scene. I had to do something with Thomas car. All I wanted to do was get to the hospital I really didn’t care what happened to his car. I knew I had to deal with it so I told the police officer that I was on my way so I could get it towed.

The police officer told me if I didn’t get there soon she would have to tow it to the city lot, she hung up on me, I called the tow company but they wanted me to pay out-of-pocket then get reimbursed by the insurance company, and triple A wouldn’t tow it because Thomas was not at the scene anymore. 30 minutes later after standing outside in the drizzle the darn car had to go the city tow lot anyway. Argh!

Ok, ok fine! By now I just want to get to my sweetheart and make sure he’s ok. Teh officer had told me that he looked fine but was complaining of neck and back pain. This worried me because he already has a bulging disk in his back. They did x-rays and a couple of other tests. Once the doctors released him we asked for a wheel chair.

First let me say that yes my honey is a big guy. He’s working on losing weight and I am so proud of him. Although he is losing about 5 to 8 lbs a week he is still a big guy. Ok we all know that and love him just the same.

The nurse comes in and tells us that they don’t have a wheel chair to accomodate him. What? You mean to tell me that you have a gift shop the size of a Hallmark store, a Starbucks that’s totally separate from the cafeteria, a full pharmacy and not to mention a museum but you don’t have an oversized wheel chair? Ok so his mom asked for a wheel chair for him to lean on. The nurse brings the wheel chair (that has more than enough room for him to sit in). His mom says “oh yeah he can fit in this” The nurse says “Are you sure?” By now my blood is boiling. The nurse proceeds to try and convince us that he needs to walk out of the hospital and question us about him being able to fit into the wheel chair. My fiance sits in the wheel chair (just fine may I add). Then the nurse says “Well I just didn’t want him to get his feelings hurt by trying and not being able to fit” I couldn’t hold it anymore and said “He is not that big!” By now I’m ready to smack this lady. How freaking rude? Stupid people are everywhere.

Needless to say he is doing ok. He’s in pain but only suffered some bruising. Thank God!

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 8:32 am

    Goodness!
    Thank God he is ok. Lots of rest and a speedy recovery for him.

  2. October 13, 2009 9:08 am

    How very scary!! I am so, so glad he’s ok! I actually watched my hubby (then fiance) crash into a light pole … I was driving behind him in the rain & his car’s wipers did not work. Any kind of accident is frightening, whether you witness it, are in it or get the call about it. I’m glad your story had a good ending 🙂

  3. October 13, 2009 10:15 am

    Happy to hear everything is okay now…people are so ignorant… sending HUGS!

  4. October 13, 2009 11:51 am

    I am glad everything checked out ok! I am sorry you had to deal with that stupid chick. I’m glad you stayed come and didn’t go off on her! tell Thomas to take it easy.

  5. October 26, 2009 5:16 pm

    How scary. I’m glad that he wasn’t seriously hurt, and is hopefully feeling much better now.

Leave a Reply

