Skip to content

My kids are diabetic too

November 2, 2009
tags:

When you read the title of the post I know you think that I’m saying that my boys take insulin, have to check their blood sugar, and watch what they eat. They don’t have to do any of that (except for the last one) but they are still diabetic.

They are what we in the DOC call T3 (type 3). T3’s are our friends, family and co-workers. The people who we interact with everyday that are just as affected by our diabetes as we are. The people who don’t get diabetes because they don’t have it but they have to deal with it anyway. My children fall into that category.

Fuss doesn’t really understand at the new age of 3 what mommy is doing when I check my blood sugar or inject my insulin. He stands there and watches very closely, not touching, not speaking. When I’m done he sticks out his hand so I can check his blood sugar (I really don’t check it) and he lifts up his shirt and points to his belly saying medicine. With the cap on I pretend to poke him in his belly with insulin. I do my best to explain it to him so he will get “it”.

Dre’ is actively involved in my diabetes care. If I’m short-tempered with him all of a sudden he will ask me “momma do you need to eat?” He knows that lows will cause me to be agitated. He also counts the Diabetes Awareness Ribbons and keeps them in straight rows so they are easier to count.

Both of my children are awesome and I am very blessed to have them! I pray that they never develop diabetes but if they do I want them to be confident, educated, and proactive in their diabetes management. I can only hope that seeing me take care of myself will encourage them to do the same.

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 9:17 am

    thank you, thank you thank you! It was when my daughter was three that she got the ball rolling for the website that took 4 years to start! Thank you so much for sharing this. Our kids are an important part of all of this too!

  2. November 2, 2009 4:34 pm

    Great post! I totally agree out kids are our T-3. Lol, Niya is my eye’s and ears lol

Leave a Reply

