Skip to content

Guest Post: It is what It is by Cherise

November 12, 2009

My next guest blogger is one of my closet friends. She is an amazing cheerleader, motivator and an amazing friend. She is one of the most positive people that I know. Even when she is having a bad day she still is there for others. Everyone in the diabetes OC loves her! Follow her tweets at @Diabetic_Iz_Me and definitely check out her blog at Diabetes Daily. Thank You Cherise for guest posting you are the BEST!

June 14, 2004 I was diagnosed with Type 1.5/LADA.  I cried.  The first person that popped in my head was my step father.  I knew I didn’t want to live with diabetes the way he did.  I cried.  I called my Mom.  I let her know what was going on, she said,” I should have known what was wrong with you; you sure was drinking a lot of water and going to the bathroom a lot.”  

I went home that night; I researched as much information as I could.  I saw a lot of sites about finding a cure for diabetes and not much on how to live with it.  I was irritated and upset.  I understand the need to cure diabetes but can you teach me how to live with it without trying to milk my pockets.  Teach me how to LIVE with DIABETES!  Did my step Father have the tools he needed to live with Diabetes?

It is what it is and I have to live with it.  I became a very informed patient/diabetic.  I asked questions, searched the internet and I found several online communities and blogs.  I live with diabetes.  My Husband, Mother, Brother and Doctor’s don’t.   You have to want to before someone will help you. 

My focus wasn’t and has never been completely about finding a cure. If we found a cure how much would it cost for us to actually get it? Insurance companies barely approve the tools we need to make living with Diabetes easier…so, think about this…Yes, I want a cure but I want to focus on Education and Awareness because in the meantime what do we do?

Last month I went to a luncheon “Celebration of Strength”.  I heard a woman say, “I have been living with diabetes for over 50 years. I was promised there would be a cure 5 years after I was diagnosed. 50 years later there isn’t a cure”.  My heart sunk.  Insulin isn’t a cure, pumping isn’t a cure, metformin isn’t a cure and exercising isn’t a cure.  I honestly can’t remember any of my Doctor’s or Endocrinologist mention a cure to me and I am glad they didn’t. 

Can we  “try” to focus on the now, focus on education, and focus on living with diabetes, focus on awareness, and focus on saving lives, limbs and organs.  A cure will come one day just not soon enough.

We can either hide under a shell or Raise our voice.  What will you choose to do? 

 November 14, 2009 is World Diabetes Day.  Diabetes isn’t a black, white, Hispanic, Asian or Indian problem…it’s becoming a WORLD EPEIDEMIC. Diabetes knows no color, location, and size or food preference.  We can hide under a shell, wait for a cure or Raise our voice.  What will you choose to do? 

Please wear blue on 11-14-09!!! It’s not all about “I”, it’s a WORLD effort.

Be Blessed

Cherise

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 8:29 am

    Andrea-

    thank you so much for allowing me to guest blog:) After the past weekend events at DRI and the Tweets I read coming from Sara, Kerri, Manny and Allison…I believe a cure is around the corner.

    Thank you soooooooooo much.

    Cherise

  2. November 12, 2009 9:20 am

    Really fantastic and beautiful post!
    Cherise your thoughts and words expressed what many of us feel,
    Focusing and raising our voices is not only needed, it’s empowering !

  3. November 12, 2009 9:48 am

    Thanks for the guest blog. You touched on a lot of important things that I agree with. My husband has been T1 for 27+ years. He stopped counting how many “cures” he was told about and instead has focused on living with it. When there’s a good cure, a valid cure, and one that works, then he will listen. But I agree–education, awareness and a positive attitude like yours goes a very long way for now!

Leave a Reply

