Skip to content

Guest Post: The D Team by George

November 27, 2009

My last BUT definitely not least guest blogger is someone who I find truly hilarious, witty and down to earth. He is the author of The B.A.D. Blog and you can follow his tweets at @Ninjabetic.

While I haven’t met him in person he is someone who I definitely want to meet in the upcoming year. Thanks George for writing an incredible post and for being a great diabetic buddy!

Guest Post

The D Team

I am a huge fan of being a team. More can get done. Each can use their own specific talents in their own specific way to get a task done. Everyone is important and plays a vital role.

 Teamwork is where it’s at.

 I look at the diabetes online community and I see this enormous team. One that supports each other in a way I would have never imagined possible. A way that truly changed my life and ultimately saved it.

 Us diabetics look into the face of diabetes everyday and battle all the ups and downs. There was a time when we felt alone going into that battle but no more. We have support that we can call on if we need help, advice, or even just an empathic ear. We always seem to be there for each other.

 But I want you to think back for a moment. Back before you found this community. Back when you did feel alone in this battle. When asking questions and advice were written down and brought up at doctors visits. Think about how awful that felt.

 Now I want you to imagine the people with diabetes right now who do not know this community and who feel completely alone. Full of sorrow and confusion and the feeling that no one on this planet can understand what they are going through. Think about them because they are out there and they need our support.

 Is this community for everyone? Well I sure don’t see why you wouldn’t want to be apart of this community but I know some people are different and this sort of thing may not be for them but my guess is, there are plenty of diabetics out there wishing they had the support we do. How can we reach out to them?

 Since I was a kid I have always heard that word of mouth is the best form of advertisement. So my challenge to you is to talk about the D-OC. Talk about the blogs you read and hopefully write! Talk about the people you follow on Twitter and how you know diabetics from around the world who are there for you when you need them. Find out who is diabetic that you know who does not know the OC and introduce them to a blog or two or even to a community like Tu Diabetes or Diabetes Daily. Get them dialed in so one less diabetic has to feel that loneliness that comes with diabetes.

 None of us should have to go it alone. We are a team.

 **I want to thank Andrea (Sticky Sweet Momma) for asking me to guest post here. It was a lot of fun and I love all you do for this community and our mission to raise awareness. You are awesome!**

Talk about it because Everyone Knows Someone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

